Lithuania in the News
31st August 2007
Leading Australian Universities Offer Fellowships Available to Young Scientists from Lithuania
The University of NSW campus
The leading universities in Australia, the so called Group of Eight (Go8), have just announced its 2008 Round of Fellowships for early career researchers from Lithuania and other countries which have recently joined the European Union. The Go8 consists of the University of Sydney, University of New South Wales, University of Queensland, University of Adelaide, University of Western Australia, University of Melbourne, Monash University and the Australian National University in Canberra.
The $20,000 Fellowships are open to researchers under the age of 40 and who have completed their PhD‘s within the last 5 years. For Lithuanian applicants the applications will open on 11 September and close on 19 October 2007.
Michael Gallagher, the Go8 Executive Director, has stated that "The countries targeted for the Go8 Fellowships have proud educational histories, include some of the oldest tertiary foundations in Europe and have made substantial contributions to global research." and that "The Go8 recognises the importance of international contacts for early career researchers. This experience will help to establish life-long collaborative opportunities with Australian research partners when the Fellows return to their home institutions."

Further information: , Tel: (61 2) 6239 5488